6.8 SPC Forums banner

Bad Experiences Thread

852 views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  Cavitation 
#1 ·
Hey Guys,

I'm new to 6.8 and new to hunting with AR's. I've been a bow and bolt gun guy most of my life

I have been reading a ton of positive results with the 6.8 on deer, hogs, yotes, and even black bear on this forum.

My biggest learning experiences hunting usually came from bad experiences (What ammo not to use, what shots not to take, what boots not to wear, etc.).

Anybody have any particularly bad experiences with the 6.8 on game they'd be willing to share? I think most of this will be ammo or shot placement related, but I am curious to see the full spectrum of the 6.8 experience and any tibbits of information about hunting with this round or hunting with an AR that a would help a newbie like me.

#2 ·
I don't have any bad experiences to relate, but my experience is that people like to talk about their successes and forget about their failures. I know guys that will go out and take a bunch of shots that are WAY to long for them, miss or wound a number of animals and come back and brag about the one long shot they made and forget to mention the rest. I've hunted with and guided lots of folks and it still surprises me when some of the stories get back to me, when I was THERE and know what actually happened. I quit reading most magazines after I realized that most of those contributors are FICTION writers. The problems start when someone inexperienced reads that Joe Shmo killed a T-Rex at 1200 yards DRT with a 6.8 and thinks its the perfect T-Rex gun. Regardless of how many Joe shot and never recovered.

#3 ·
My worst experiences have been 100% avoidable as they were Carbon Interface Unit (CUI) errors.