Welcome to the Home of the 6.8 SPC - 68forums.com.

Advertise Here
    6.8 Member

Default Barrel pros and cons: Stainless vs CMV w/ melonite

I am building my first AR and cannot decide on a barrel quite yet. I am brand new to the AR / 68 world and want to make the best informed decision I can.

I am looking at going with a 18" Bison Armory SPR with the stainless bead blasted finish or 18" ARP SPR that is CMV w/ the melonite finish. I know both these companies and barrels are top notch, but just looking for a little extra knowledge

So what are the pros and cons to stainless vs CMV w/ melonite? I am leaving this question quite open because I don't really know the specific questions to ask.

Thanks for all your guys help!

Here is a pic of my build in process

For details on the build parts check out my introduction http://68forums.com/forums/showthrea...tral-CA-member

6.8 SPC Addict

Melonite, it's VERY hard, not easy to drill, and when you bump the barrel around it still looks new. I wish all my steel parts in an AR were melonite finished, I already know my Melonited barrel wont rust, but pins and springs do,lol.

I think I've bought my last Chrome lined barrel.

I don't have a Bison, but ARP barrels in 264, 6.8 and 223 Wylde I'm very happy with. I have 3 stainless ARP barrels, they shoot small groups, but Melonite for me in the future.

You really don't go wrong with either a SS or Melonite barrel!!!

68Forums.com lifer

Quote Originally Posted by BradL45 View Post
    Melonite, it's VERY hard, not easy to drill, and when you bump the barrel around it still looks new. I wish all my steel parts in an AR were melonite finished, I already know my Melonited barrel wont rust, but pins and springs do,lol.

I think I've bought my last Chrome lined barrel.

I don't have a Bison, but ARP barrels in 264, 6.8 and 223 Wylde I'm very happy with. I have 3 stainless ARP barrels, they shoot small groups, but Melonite for me in the future.